L’s World











{March 2, 2008}   Insomnia is Normal

insomnia1.jpg

 

It’s 4:17 P.M. Central time and I just woke up.

I feel so tired sleeping. My back hurts.

They say that you’ll feel rested and relaxed after sleeping – NOT!!!
I guess it’s because of too much sleep. And I remember, everything that is taken in excess is not good.
Sleeping at 6 A.M. and waking up at 4:17 P.M. – that means I had 10 hours of sleep – is that excessive?
Dozing off is better that doing nothing besides I have sleep problems – others call it insomnia. I call it normal.

What if I really can’t sleep at night? What if even with the help of sleep aids I can’t fall asleep? What if this is normal for me? What if daytime is sleeptime for me and nightime is my real time? Isn’t that normal, too?

I am a nocturnal creature. I love the night. I love the quiet and peaceful sound and feel of the night. While all others are sleeping, the world is mine. While all the others are dreaming, I am facing reality.

According to medterms.com, Insomnia: The perception or complaint of inadequate or poor-quality sleep because of one or more of the following: difficulty falling asleep; waking up frequently during the night with difficulty returning to sleep; waking up too early in the morning; or unrefreshing sleep. Insomnia is not defined by the number of hours of sleep a person gets or how long it takes to fall asleep. Individuals vary normally in their need for, and their satisfaction with, sleep. Insomnia may cause problems during the day, such as tiredness, a lack of energy, difficulty concentrating, and irritability.

Also, according to that website, the causes of insomnia include advanced age – insomnia occurs more frequently in those age over 60. It is also more prevalent in the female gender. It is also caused by a history of depression. In other conditions such as stress, anxiety, a medical problem, or the use of certain medications, insomnia is more likely.

There are many causes of insomnia. Transient and intermittent insomnia generally occur in people who are temporarily experiencing one or more of the following: stress, environmental noise, extreme temperatures, a change in the surrounding environment, sleep/wake schedule problems such as those due to jet lag, or medication side effectsI do not have insomnia – or that’s what I believe. First, I have adequate sleep – 10 hours everyday. I do not have difficulty falling asleep. I just chose to be awake and do stuff at night. There are a lot of things I can do at night. I can write, read and watch my favorite anime shows without anybody disturbing me. Nightime is the best time to contemplate and meditate.How can I have insomnia if I’m not over the age of 60? I do not have a history of depression and I am not stressed. I do not even have a medical condition and I do not have regular medications not unless you call Ferrous Sulfate a regular medication. I am not under stress, my environment is so peaceful and the temperature here in Texas is splendid. No jetlags either. The last time I got on the plane was last January 4, 2008 when my boyfriend and I moved here from California. Will that cause me insomnia?

Oh well, insomnia or not, I believe that sleeping during the day and being awake at night is not a disease. Sleeping is a choice. Choosing to sleep at daytime is normal. It’s not insomnia. It’s a choice. It is normal. I am normal.

 Feb 15 08
Leave a Reply

et cetera
